Welcome back to the Curio Cabinet

A while ago I set up the Curio Cabinet to showcase oddities I came across researching my stories. Like everything created by human hands, it fell into ruin. Dug up and dusted off it is now something of a curiosity itself. A curiosity containing curiosities, found things that don't belong anywhere, perhaps nowhere at all. … Continue reading Welcome back to the Curio Cabinet

A Canticle for Jean Lee

My good friend and fellow author, Jean Lee, is running a highly successful audio series called Story Cuppings. In each episode, she reads and comments on the first chapter of a novel- sometimes her own choice and sometimes recommended. Jean's audio is a true delight and damn entertaining to boot. As you will discover if … Continue reading A Canticle for Jean Lee

Hear me now

Bookstores, libraries, and coffee shops are the usual venues to listen to an author reading from and discussing a lastest work, perhaps with coffee and a muffin, or even over a nice cup of tea and a slice of hot buttered toast. With such venues closed, due to the current catastophe, Rebecca Budd created a … Continue reading Hear me now

Echo and Narcissus – A Moral Tale

“Tis spring when a young man’s fancy turns to love!” (Echo and Narcissus by John William Waterhouse) Imagine living in world without mirrors, never even catching your reflection while passing a window. The most you might see is a distorted image in a disk of polished bronze or a dim unrecognised face peering back at … Continue reading Echo and Narcissus – A Moral Tale

Thomas the Rhymer New Review

Book Review Thomas the Rhymer by Carol Taylor A child is missing under very peculiar circumstances, there is nothing worse that can befall a family. The tale of magic and mayhem soon unfolds. There is not much time to find Dan or he will be gone forever. I was drawn into the story which soon … Continue reading Thomas the Rhymer New Review

Thomas the Rhymer Book Review

Author Paul Andruss has an expert knowledge of mythical creatures and the world of the fairies which he shares with the reader using the most beautiful and expressive language. He pulls you into this fairy world, which exists in parallel to our own and which is fraught with difficulties due to human technology and progress. This book also shares valuable lessons about everything not being as it appears to be and the value of strong friendships.

Sir Chocolate and the Condensed Milk River

Sir Chocolate and the Condensed Milk River by Robbie and Michael Cheadle Sir Chocolate and the Condensed Milk River by Robbie and Michael Cheadle is a story and cookbook in one. It is the latest in a great fun series from a mother and her young son, the Author/Baker team of Robbie and Michael Cheadle. … Continue reading Sir Chocolate and the Condensed Milk River

On the Shoulders of Giants

When Sally Cronin included me in her list of 10 nominees for The Miranda Sings Award – A chance to say I Love Me! A list of 7 things you like about yourself. I admit to quaking in my boots.  Smorgasbord: Variety is the Spice of Life Sally’s piece had all the unmistakable qualities that … Continue reading On the Shoulders of Giants

Thomas the Rhymer Review 2

Thomas the Rhymer Book Review by Brigid Gallagher A mystical adventure that will appeal to all age groups Jack Hughes witnesses the abduction of his brother Dan by the wicked fairy Sylvie. Nightmares and visions of a mysterious tramp take over his reality and he becomes torn about sharing the truth behind his brothers disappearance. … Continue reading Thomas the Rhymer Review 2

What’s in a Name? (Vol 1)

Book Review: What’s in a Name? (Vol 1) by Sally Cronin I always feel sad reaching the end of a Sally Cronin book. It is not simply because I feel a chapter of my life has closed. Nor because I will no longer be dragged along, a willing, nay eager, voyeur into the lives of … Continue reading What’s in a Name? (Vol 1)

The Writer and the Rake

Book Review: The Writer and The Rake by Shehanne Moore I can confirm Shehanne Moore is no Miss Barbara Cartland. Now there is two ways you can take this news. If you are anything like me it will be with a lusty huzzah and an air punch. I was never one for simpering virgins and … Continue reading The Writer and the Rake